The latest on my medical condition

I came back to my ENT yesterday and we discussed the results of my throat culture and sensitivity examination. It turned out to be normal so I guess that’s one good news for me. However, I had to undergo a rigid laryngeal endoscopy to check on what’s causing me to be losing my voice. I can barely be heard and it’s really difficult for me to speak. My vocal cords are fine as per the results of the test but she gave strict orders for me to be on TOTAL VOICE REST for one full week to enable my voice to recover from all the infection I got. When she said total she meant, not even a whisper should come out of my mouth. Now I’m wondering how I can keep my mouth good smelling if I don’t speak for a week. And now I’m wondering how I can keep my saliva from spoiling! LOL!

About my tonsillar cyst, my doctor told me that I’m the only one who can decide on whether or not I’ll have my tonsils removed. She is not recommending surgery because she thinks and she sees that the cyst is benign. However, she really couldn’t confirm that unless a full examination of the cyst is made and the only way for that to be done is to have my tonsils removed. What she told me to do is to closely observe for any changes on the cyst. And if anything weird happens, I can always go back to her and have her look on it. Ultimately, if I decide to have my tonsils removed, then we can talk about it.

After my check-up, I went to my team’s GA at All Star Bar and Cafe in Manila. I arrived about an hour late because I got held up at my HMO’s office in the hospital. I know I totally missed a full hour of laughter and jokes with the team but at least I still made it. For all that it’s worth, I decided to give it one last shot to sing before I totally rest my voice for a whole week. I know I may never be able to sing the way I used to before but what’s important is that I can still sing after I’m cleared of whatever’s bothering my throat.

I had so much fun with my team and got to mingle with them on a more personal level. It’s often hard to talk to them while at work because we’re all busy doing our stuff and if we do talk, mostly it’s because of work. I just love Aston Martin!! My team mates are my main reason why I always look forward to work. I don’t need to drag myself out of bed (at least 95% of the time) because I’m always looking forward to Marky’s singing, to Thea’s green jokes, to Geri’s witty comments, to Kat’s unbelievable warmth as a person, to our TM Tope’s “pagtataray” with a twist (that is, he’s just always kidding). I am looking forward to more team building sessions (read: drinking and karaoke…*giggles*) with them.

Anyway, I decided to buy a small white board to serve as my voice. I know how to write so I’m using that. I’m bringing it with me to work so I won’t really need to force my voice to whisper. It’s gonna be weird but what the heck!

Leave a comment